As of two weeks ago, I began designing my own Bachelors of Arts program in what was originally called “Sustainable Community Development” at Prescott College.  Partially because I was given the opportunity, and partially because I thought it was a more appropriate title, I have redubbed my concentration “Community Art and Architecture.”  It is my goal to demonstrate that these terms are somewhat interchangeable; that you can’t have “sustainable community development” without a matching “art and architecture.”  After all, if it aint pretty it’s aint gonna last, and demolition is anything but sustainable.

So there.

Here I will be posting experiences and research of note from my classwork on this subject.  For the first term I will be carrying four courses starting in Providence, Rhode Island for five weeks, and finishing while completing a natural building internship on The Farm in Tennessee.  These courses carry the following subjects: Collective Living, Agricultural Urbanism and Wellness, Deep Ecology, and a course in how to design the rest of my time at Prescott College where I will be writing a term paper in Biomimicry and Wabi-sabi.  You can also expect me to write about my experiences volunteering on urban and rural farms, collaborating with the Congress of New Urbanism New England, and any artwork I deem relevant.

In the fall I hope to move towards topics like Public Art, Music and Community, Historically Relevant New England Architecture, and Water Systems and Watersheds.   In the winter I’d like to work with Common Ground Relief in New Orleans.

In my own day dreaminess I’d love to grow mustard seed on my rooftop, build a tree house, and herd sheep.  It should be mentioned that I am very allergic to wool.  I also think a lot about how allowing children to decorate their schools could mitigate gang violence; how things in nature are always in motion and that which is man made is mostly designed to stagnate; exactly how everyone deserves/should/and can have creative and meaningful work; and how beauty can be a motivating force.

You know, just those sorts of things.  Thank you for your attention.

Li Pallas.

